Saturday, October 10, 2015

Further RenPOW testing

I've persevered with my testing of Renaissance Principles of War throughout the last week playing a turn here and there.

I think I'm beginning to get the hang of how it's meant to work.  The rules are definitely in need of something; better internal referencing would be good, perhaps more sub-headings, and some more explanation of the intent of some of the rules.

Anyway, there's a major melee going on in front of the Polish infantry where they are drawn up along their ridge (background of the pic below)...


...whilst the Turkish infantry are just beginning their march towards the action having received new orders from their C-in-C...


I think the two Polish Hussar units are still destined to play a key role in the battle.


Whilst the Turkish right flank cavalry command may yet wreak havoc on the Polish left.


A couple of questions remain unanswered so far:

1. If a unit is still in melee after last turn and is charged in the flank can it evade? I guess not.

2. If a unit attempts to evade but fails, can it shoot?  I guess not.

1 comment:

Phil Broeders said...

1. If a unit is still in melee after last turn and is charged in the flank can it evade? In this instance, it is your opponents bound (turn) so charging into your flank means you can't evade and must make a charge reaction and check on the morale factors to judge the effect (e.g. -4 for being charged in the flank, etc. If you pass, then you are NOT counted as being flanked but you do have 2 (or more) units fighting your 1 unit.

2. If a unit attempts to evade but fails, can it shoot? If you elect to evade and fail the roll, you then count as Shaken. A Shaken unit may not move but can fire at the chargers if they are an eligible target - and they take take 1L on the firing table as they are Shaken.